How do we get healthcare to more veterans?

How do you expand veterans’ healthcare to truly make an impact on the lives of as many veterans as possible? On September 22 at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT, the Veterans Healthcare Policy Institute will host a panel of experts to discuss the various proposals and methods that could help expand access to the Department of Veterans Affairs.

It’s possible to fulfill the VA’s promise, derived from President Lincoln, to care for the veteran and their dependents. But before we do, we need to know how to move forward. Register for the Zoom meeting here.

Despite being the largest and only truly integrated healthcare system in the U.S. that rivals (and often exceeds) the quality of other healthcare systems, the VA still fails to reach all the veterans it could serve. And too often, veterans’ families (who are integral to veterans’ health and well-being) are left out of the conversation entirely.

Our panelists include: 

  • Suzanne Gordon (moderator), author of Wounds of War and The Battle for Veterans’ Healthcare
  • Rick Weidman, co-founder of Vietnam Veterans of America
  • Carl A. Castro, Ph.D., University of Southern California, Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work
  • Kathryn Van Haste, Office of U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders
  • Kenneth W. Kizer, Former Under Secretary for Health in the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (Tentative)

I hope you’ll be able to join us for the conversation on Zoom. 

Sincerely, 
Brett W. Copeland
Executive Director, VHPI

Special Event Zoom Forum 

Tuesday, September 22 at 1 p.m. ET / Noon CT / 10 a.m. PT

Close Menu